Argentina, officially the Argentine Republic, is a country located mostly in the southern half of South America. Sharing the bulk of the Southern Cone with Chile to the west, the country is also bordered by Bolivia and Paraguay to the north, Brazil to the northeast, Uruguay and the South Atlantic Ocean to the east, and the Drake Passage to the south.

With a mainland area of 2,780,400 km2, Argentina is the eighth-largest country in the world, the fourth largest in the Americas, the second-largest in South America after Brazil, and the largest Spanish-speaking nation. The sovereign state is subdivided into twenty-three provinces and one autonomous city, Buenos Aires, which is the federal capital of the nation as decided by Congress.

The provinces and the capital have their own constitutions but exist under a federal system. Argentina claims sovereignty over part of Antarctica, the Falkland Islands, and South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands.

Argentina is provided with a vast territory and a huge variety of climates and microclimates ranging from tundra and polar in the south to the tropical climate in the north, through a vast expanse of temperate climate and natural wonders like the Aconcagua, the highest mountain in the world outside the Himalayas, the widest river and estuary of the planet, the huge and mighty Iguazú Falls, some of the flattest and wide meadows-plains of planet Earth, culture, customs and cuisines famous internationally, a higher degree of development, good quality of life and people and relatively well prepared infrastructure make this country one of the most visited in America.


  • Iguazú Falls
  • Perito Moreno Glacier
  • Buenos Aires: The City of Barrios
  • Ushuaia: The End of the World
  • Puerto Madryn and the Valdés Peninsula
  • Tierra del Fuego National Park
  • Mar del Plata
  • Bariloche and Argentinas Lake District
  • Mendoza
  • Historic Córdoba Cathedral
  • Los Glaciares
  • El Calafate
  • Cordoba
  • Bariloche
  • Route of the Seven Lakes

More Places