Portugal, officially the Portuguese Republic is a country located mostly on the Iberian Peninsula in southwestern Europe.
In 2017, Portugal was elected both Europe's Leading Destination and World's Leading Destination. Tourist hotspots in Portugal are Lisbon, Porto, the Algarve, Fatima, Coimbra, Azores, and Madeira, but the Portuguese government is currently developing new destinations: the Douro Valley, Porto Santo Island, and Alentejo.
Portugal has several other tourism regions such as Douro Sul, Templários, Dão-Lafões, Costa do Sol, Costa Azul, Planície Dourada, etc. Most of them are unknown to tourists and locals alike.
All these regions are grouped in tourism reference areas, which are widely known because these are the traditional regions:

  • Costa Verde - The Portuguese green coast comprises all the northern coast of Portugal from the estuary of the Minho River to the city of Porto.
  • Costa de Prata - The Portuguese silver coast comprises from Porto to Lisbon. Fatima, Nazaré and Óbidos are 3 very important places.
  • Costa de Lisboa - Lisbon coast. The coast of Portuguese Riviera (Sintra, Cascais and Estoril) and Caparica.
  • Montanhas - Mountainous and interior regions of northern and central Portugal, namely Serra da Estrela and Trás-os-Montes.
  • Planícies - The Portuguese plane region of Alentejo in the south.
  • Algarve - The southern coast of Portugal including the Golden Triangle.
  • Madeira - The Madeira islands.
  • Açores - The Azores islands.
Tourist regions
The main tourist regions can be broken down into:
  • the Greater Lisbon,
  • the Greater Porto,
  • the Algarve,
  • the Alentejo,
  • Central Portugal,
  • Northern Portugal and
  • the Portuguese Islands: Madeira and Azores.
 Other tourist regions include Douro Sul, Templários, Dão-Lafões, Costa do Sol, Costa Azul, Planície Dourada, that are unknown to many tourists or visitors.
Most of these regions are grouped in tourism reference areas, which continue to be in a state of reorganization and evolution, some based on the traditional regions of Portugal: the Costa Verde (Green Coast); Costa da Prata (Silver Coast); Costa de Lisboa (Lisbon Coast); Montanhas (Mountains); Planícies (Plains); Algarve; and the islands of the archipelagos of Madeira and the Azores.
The Rooster of Barcelos is bought by many tourists as a souvenir. The legend of the Rooster of Barcelos tells the story of a dead rooster's miraculous intervention in proving the innocence of a man who had been falsely accused and sentenced to death. The story is associated with the 17th-century calvary that is part of the collection of the Archeological Museum located in Paço dos Condes, a gothic-style palace in Barcelos, a city in the Braga District of northwest Portugal.


  • Coimbra
  • São Miguel, Azores
  • Évora
  • Aveiro
  • Sintra
  • Porto
  • Óbidos
  • Funchal
  • Algarve
  • Lisbon
  • Guimarães
  • Albufeira
  • Vilamoura
  • Fátima
  • Faro

More Places